Leadership & Governance

  • Aspiring Middle Leaders Programme
  • Aspiring Senior Leaders Programme
  • Support in Applying for NPQH
  • Developing a Whole School Approach to Coaching
  • Cross Phase National Leadership Qualifications: NPQML; NPQSL; NPQH

The National College of Teaching and Leadership has developed a new range of national qualifications and flexible study modules designed to give more choice in teacher’s professional development.

They’re part of a new leadership curriculum, designed to support leaders at every stage of their career. The curriculum is structured around five levels which reflect the different needs and challenges that leaders face as they take on new roles and responsibilities. Each level offers a choice of modules that may be combined to pursue a qualification (levels one to three) or studied on their own as a stand-alone course.

You can choose options at any level of the curriculum to match your experience and your development and career aspirations.

Take a look at our leadership curriculum prospectus.

See an overview of the leadership curriculum.

Read our frequently asked questions about the leadership curriculum.

National qualifications

The new national qualifications combine essential study modules with the freedom to choose other, elective modules to fit your needs.

Three new national qualifications are now available.

National Professional Qualification for Middle Leadership (NPQML)

National Professional Qualification for Senior Leadership (NPQSL)

National Professional Qualification for Headship (NPQH)

About the study modules

Study modules combine academic rigour with a strong focus on practical leadership, drawing on evidence from international research and the knowledge and experience of some of the most successful school and children’s centre leaders here in England.

Typically, a module involves up to 50 hours of what we describe as ‘blended learning’. This includes learning in the workplace (about 20 hours), face-to-face activity, including peer and facilitated learning, reading, reflection and online learning.

All of the modules are delivered by licensed providers and DTSA is linking with George Spencer TSA in Nottingham who are our nearest licensed provider. DTSA intends to become a licensed provider  at the earliest opportunity. While all licensed providers offer the same essential modules, they may vary in their range of elective modules, some specialising in different aspects of leadership development, others providing options that reflect local priorities.

Read a description of our current study modules.

Read about the benefits of flexible study.

Study a module as a stand-alone course

Our elective modules can be studied on their own as stand-alone courses – ideal if you just want to fill a skills gap, pursue a particular interest or support current priorities in your school or organisation. If you decide to take things further, your study module will count towards a full national qualification at the same level.

Find out more

Check if your prior learning makes you eligible for exemption from some aspects of our qualifications.

Scholarships and costs.

Read about the quality assurance of our qualifications.

Read the answers to frequently asked questions.